Sunday, October 5, 2008

Question of the Day:

-->Where did you work while in college?<--

I'm looking for a job, so advice would be helpful too!

6 comments:

Mom said...

Back in the stone ages, I did all of the following jobs during the same two year period - washed dishes in the chemistry lab, delivered newspapers in the dorms, shelved books in the library, worked as a receptionist in the Dean of Student's office, shined shoes, ironed shirts, and waited tables in the school cafeteria. And I made Dean's List.
Love,Mom

Holly said...

Me, have a job? Notsomuch... now I am a student, if only that paid.

Arthur on the other hand works at McDonald's. Me, unemployed; him, flippin' burgers. What a great duo.

Jennifer said...

When I was a full time student I worked at a day care four hours each day. (now to age myself) In a months time I made just over $300 and my little Geo Metro was $160 each month. Minimum wage was $4.25 at the time:)

Use this time to explore an interest or area that you might not necessarily want as a career but would like to try.

Good luck,
Jennifer Adams

Katherine Klegin said...

i worked at the library for a bit. it was kind of good because you could study some while you were there, but it was also extremely boring.

Riley (aka Rachel) said...

When I was in college, I worked at a fabric store part time - generally about 15-17 hours a week. It was great experience for going into Interior Design, and the people were a bunch of fun. I made about $7/hr - which was really good at the time (about 10 years ago)!!

Working retail (which I did during summers in high school) at the mall kind of sucks - but if you can find a job at a locally owned business, I always liked those jobs better.

Another job a friend had in college and really liked - nanny/babysitter. It was her job to pick the kids up from school in the afternoon and stay with them until the parents got home during the week. She loved it!

N.M.B. said...

I was a nanny and it was the best job I could have asked for. I took care of a 5 and a 9 year old for two years. I was able to do my homework and the parents were very easy to work with my schedule- tests and going home to visit my family. I made a few hundred dollars a week.